Bloggers of note

I am fortunate in that some of my students have been encouraged to blog. This is a great way for them to keep their writing skills up and to be able to share their own opinions and views.

http://www.lindsaysfashionblog.blogspot.com/ Lindsay has just graduated from East Coast Media and has gained a job as a features writer at Walton Publications in Grimsby. This is great for her and I wish her well in her new job. All the time Lindsay has been at East Coast Media she has produced a blog (see link above). Lindsay enjoys her fashion and blogs about latest trends and what she is finding interesting. She has also been doing PR for East Coast Pictures, an independent production company. Recently, she did some promotion for a local salon’s wedding breakfast – a package they do for brides on their wedding day.

Another graduate, who also loves writing is Katie-Nan. She too writes a blog http://katienanblog1.blogspot.com/ about her life and feelings. Katie-Nan would love to be an author and has been writing a book – extracts of which are on her blog. She too writes about fashion and gives tips and hints on revamping clothing.

Their love of writing propels them on and I hope they keep up their blogging. It’s very easy (and I’m guilty of it too) of starting a blog, doing lots of posts and then not going back to them for ages. It’s a case of think of a topic and find five minutes to sit and bash it out!!

Other blogs I have come across have been through followers on Twitter. Rob Cameron writes a blog found at http://robcameron.co.uk/ about personal development and career management amongst others. He knows what he’s talking about and has some words of wisdom to share.  Another one worth sharing with you is Roberta Ward http://mypropertymentor.co.uk/blog/ whose blogs are more words of wisdom and advice on properties, whether buying, advice on taking in lodgers, etc. One that caught my eye was a blog on university cities taking money from local economies. Universities providing cheaper accommodation, which forces many local landlords out of busy. It’s true what she says in that there is a danger of alienating students from the community. Something many academics I know have actually agreed on too, especially with international students. These internationals all live in halls together, not mixing with the English students nor the community. An interesting debate indeed.

There are many more writers out there, who I will come back to in a future posts. In particular, there are some great political bloggers. Who are your favourite bloggers? Let me know so we can share.

7 thoughts on “Bloggers of note

  1. Hi Emma, thank you so much for mentioning me/my blog in your post. When I started to blog, I found it quite daunting; what should I write about, will people be interested etc. As time has gone on, as people have found it,read it and commented it has given me encouragement and now I find inspiration in all sorts of places. I encourage everybody to give it a go, it is an excellent way of clearing and a great way of engaging people. Great post Emma, keep them coming. Cheers Rob

    • Hi Rob
      Thanks for your comments. It is a great way of engaging with people and is a useful tool, as you say, of getting things off your mind. I find once I start, the ideas keep flowing and I’m jotting down notes all over to remind me what my next blog will be about!
      Look forward to reading more from yourself.
      Cheers
      Emma

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Bloggers of note « Journalism Blog -- Topsy.com

  3. Hi Emma
    Thanks so much for the recommendation of our blog.We have worked hard to make it accessible to most folks so that anyone can learn how to maximise their property or find something interesting to read. We always do our best to help people and answer their property queries. Property issues affect so many of us in one way or another, so it’s as well to read and understand as much as possible.
    Roberta

    • Hi Roberta
      It’s a great way for people to read and learn. Sometimes better than reading it in an article in a paper or magazine, as it’s your words!
      Look forward to catching up with more
      Emma

  4. Oh Emma I’ve only just seen this, thanks for your mention and again for all of your help over the past three years!

Leave a Reply

